Monday, October 2, 2023

October/November Pick - The City Baker's Guide to Country Living


It's that time again!  A new selection here at Cook the Books Club!  The City Baker's Guide to Country Living, by Louise Miller.  A new one for me as well.  I only recently heard about this novel so haven't read it yet, but am definitely looking forward to getting into the book along with you all. From the reviews, it sounded the double horn: foodie fiction, with good plot and character driven writing. 

Review from the Library Journal: 
"Flambéed" is an apt description of both Olivia's career and personal life. The pastry chef for a four-star Boston dinner club flees in the aftermath of a meringue pie mishap. Worse yet, she's been jilted and humiliated by the club's president after she is exposed as his side interest. Nursing a wounded ego and a serious craving for a slice of key lime, Olivia lands in Guthrie, VT, home of her longtime best friend, where she astounds herself by accepting a job at the local inn. An embittered spinster and county fair ribbon winner who lost the only thing that really mattered, a wise elderly banjo player, and Martin, a charming, bespectacled man with a checkered history of ditching town, all school Olivia in the art of small-town living. VERDICT Mix in one part Diane Mott -Davidson's delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon's country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance. Fans of Jeanne Ray and Judith Ryan Hendricks will enjoy this lighthearted love story that's as homey as a slice of prized crumb apple pie."

I  hope you enjoy the reading and will join in with our Foodie Read party for this selection. Please remember to comment below with your link.  Deadline for contributing your post is Thursday, November 30, 2023
Aloha,  
Claudia, Honey From Rock

9 comments:

Simona Carini said...

A colorful cast of characters brings the novel to life. Thank you for hosting, Claudia :)

A Day in the Life on the Farm said...

As I was reading this I realized I had read it before. I enjoyed it just as much the second time. You can see my review and recipe at V=https://adayinthelifeonthefarm.blogspot.com/2023/10/apple-pie-cookies-and-weekly-menu.html
Thanks for hosting.

Claudia said...

Thanks for participating Wendy, your apple pie cookies sound delightful!

Claudia said...

My post is up today! https://honeyfromrock.blogspot.com/2023/10/its-fall-with-savory-stuffed-mini.html

Amy said...

Thanks for hosting! Here's my post! https://www.amyscookingadventures.com/2023/11/mini-cherry-pies.html

gluten Free A_Z Blog said...

Sounds like a book I would enjoy reading. thanks for the review and I look forward to looking at the posts for the Foodie Read Party.

Marg said...

Here's my contribution for this selection

http://www.theintrepidreader.com/2023/11/weekend-cookingcook-books-city-bakers.html

Simona Carini said...

Here's my contribution
https://www.pulcetta.com/2023/11/recipe-farrecchiata-polenta-roveja.html

Thank you for hosting, Claudia :)

Debra Eliotseats said...

Mine is up: http://eliotseats.com/2023/11/29/mixed-greens-salad-with-toasted-black-walnuts-goat-cheese-maple-vinaigrette-apple-spice-croutons/